top of page

About Us

Watercolor Paint

Our History

On Friday, September 22, 1933, the Women's Art League was born. It was organized at the home of Florence Richardson, 215 Rose Blvd, in Akron, with 20 artists in attendance.


The following month, October 20, 1933, a meeting was held at Phillips Hall, the University of Akron. The constitution was drawn up and Florence Richardson became the first President.


Meetings took place each Friday and the group painted and sketched. Charter members consisted of artists whose work was in the Spring May Show of 1934 held at the Akron Art Institute.

These artists were:

Eva Allen,  Louise Barder, Jane Barnhardt, Zella Boedicker, Arta Bucher, Katherine Calvin, Helen Clay, Inez Crisp, Julia Delzell, Amy Goehring, Ruth Oenslager, Lucille Poe, Grace Rankin, Florence Richardson, Margaret Roberts, Gertrude Seiberling, Blanche Stewart,

Germaine Verheyden, Katherine Waite, and Louise Zental.


Our Purpose

To unite the women artists of Akron who are interested in the advancement of the arts, who desire to be of service to the community in a way that merits the recognition, respect, and support of the community. One of our yearly projects is to provide a scholarship to a female artist from an Akron area high school.

We are primarily an active artists group, with at least two member/juried shows annually. Participation in the Akron Kaleidescope Show is also one of our membership perks.


We believe all women can embrace who they are,
can define their future, and can change the world.

Our Mission


The Women's Art League sponsors scholarships for Akron High School Senior Women who are going to art school or college and are majoring in art or art education. Applications are available at the high school.

​Students must apply with the teacher's signature and send 5 examples of their painting and drawing skills. A committee reviews their work and awards money which is sent to them directly prior to their High School graduation date. 

Group Photo.jpg
Gallery Wall.jpg

2022 Scholarship Winner

Winner name here, Medium, School, 

Past Scholarship Winners

2021  Isabella Bailey - Firestone High School

2019  Kalia Horner - Firestone High School

2018  Hannah Weisburn - Revere High School

2018   Susan Curtis - Green High School

Become a Member

bottom of page